The Sacraments

The Sacraments are efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us.  The visible rites by which the Sacraments are celebrated signify and make present the graces proper to each Sacrament.  They bear fruit in those who receive them with the required dispositions.

Through the Sacraments God works invisibly within us, both bringing to life and also strengthening and confirming our faith in Him.

What is a Sacrament?
A Sacrament is an outward and visible sign of an inward and spiritual grace.  God gives us the sign as a means whereby we receive that grace, and as a tangible assurance that we do in fact receive it.

What are the Sacraments of the Gospel?
The two Sacraments ordained by Christ, which are generally necessary for our salvation, are Baptism and the Eucharist.  The Eucharist is also called the Lord’s Supper, Holy Communion, and the Mass

What are the other Sacraments?
Other rites known to be Sacraments include Confirmation, Confession and Absolution, Marriage, Ordination, and the Anointing of the Sick.  These are sometimes called the Sacraments of the Church.

The Western Christian tradition has seen Christian initiation as a process that begins with Baptism, proceeds through Confirmation, and is completed in Holy Communion (participation in the Eucharist and First Communion).
~the Rev’d Dr Paul Avis~